Try Something New!


Now that I look back on this year, I realize a lot of crazy things happened. 2014 certainly wasn’t another 2011 (and I’m so glad it wasn’t), and it was the profound parallel to 2012…but, naturally, it was its own era that definitely made a big mark on my life both as an author and as an individual. And if I were to give a label to the 2014 era, I would have to say it is the “year of trying new things.” Oddly enough, not many books or ideas came about this year (especially because my focus was on baking or advancing my career 75% of the time), but the ones that did come will be significant additions to my collection for years to come. And all of them involved something new! At least for me!

They tell you to stay in your comfort zone as a writer–to write “what you know.” And this is certainly true, and it can definitely guide you along the path to finding your author self at first. But as time goes on, it becomes important to discover new things, to be curious, to play around with new forms of verse or writing or concepts. When I write, of course, I take the utterly Romantic approach of letting the words form from me, and I tend not to put much thought into the words themselves (seeing them as “complete” the way they came). Instead, I invest all my time and energy into developing the story and knowing the characters–a process which occurs by daydreaming. Lots and lots of daydreaming. That is to say that the books which take possession of my soul tend to come out of nowhere. And…well…when one comes to me, and it is a little strange and different at first…sometimes I find myself wondering why it came to me in the first place and not someone else. But if I feel compelled enough to take on the project, I end up doing things I normally would not do. Like research!

And boy did I have to research this year. And what’s even stranger is what I ended up spending hours researching and taking insane notes: history! Normally I don’t care for history (especially wars and politics and stuff), but one of the main 2014 novels basically required it. Nah, i shouldn’t say it like that; the truth is I actually wanted to research so that I could better understand the era and how things were back then so that I could explain the series of events and–eventually–revise them to my own accord. Yep. For the first time ever (and probably the only time), I wrote a historical fiction fanfiction book! That is one sentence that, before April of this year, I thought I would never say in my life.

Oh, but there’s more… If there is one thing I love, it is dramatic occurrences. Just those tangible feelings on paper in on screen that just beg you to feel sorry for the character–to, in a sense, take on their pain or long to understand just why that makes them both tragic and beautiful at the same time. I think I’m deranged; is liking stuff like that wierd? I can’t explain why I enjoy things like that–but I do! So, many of my novels tend to be dramatic or just downright emotionally-powerful. But, alas, I decided to put all that aside in another fanfiction (this is the last one), which details the soft, light-hearted ambiance of a slice of life anime without the “feels,” as the internet so aptly puts it. Oh, but don’t worry…I actually couldn’t resist putting in some downright heartwarming/depressing episodes. It is a sickness, I know.

You know what scares me? Horror genre. I can’t stand scary things–especially if they’re full of violence. Except…do you know what influenced the darker side of my current novel? Horror video games! I got suddenly hooked on watching “Let’s plays” of them for about a week (and I still continue to search for them), and the vibe gently seeped into the book… And, well, I don’t mind my new interest so much…it’s just that I have a fragile heart and a quick tendency to be paranoid about everything. So maybe I should kick the habit soon. But the psychology ones are so cool! (Yes…more psychological insanity–my other vice)

And I must admit that FM’s genius (from 2012) has rubbed off on me, for the 2014 trio of books (the one without a title, PW2WC, and These Days That Are) are all very intelligent books by way of their subject matters, composition, and overall ideas. Explaining them is very hard to do, for the plotline is simple, but the overall concepts are so…incomprehensible. I don’t know where these things come from, honestly! Besides the ideas being completely different (maybe even a step up) from my usual brands of “~CRK wierdness,” the books themselves are vastly different from my usual style–with one involving a lot of paragraph changes, another including no chapters in an almost run-on sort of setting, and another being a daily journal without ever indicating that it is!

2014 was a crazy year!

Not only that, but I also finally got to business learning how to write kids’ books, and I even consulted my previous elementary school teachers on the matter. And, to conclude, I once had only ideas for manga come to my mind for about a week. I wish I could draw!!

So what did all that prove? That I’m crazy? Well, maybe…but the main point is that you can never be sure what you may like unless you try it! There are many different types of genres in writing, and there are lots of ways of telling the same story. Don’t be afraid to try new things, write in new styles, or employ new concepts. You can even make up your own style! I know that back in 2011, the cool thing was to write novels in verse style (like poems or unrhyming poems)…then it got to the point where people wanted to write books in multiple perspectives, switching from one to another each chapter (I could never do this one). I wonder what’s next? Plus, you may try something and realize you’re really good at it or that you have a particular interest in it. You never know. Just keep writing!

The next great book is just out there waiting for you!

[[[[[[[[]]]]]]]]]]

DUE TO THE RECOVERY OF SAID AUTHOR ON THIS BLOG, THE USUAL ADVERTISEMENT SECTION HAS BEEN REDACTED.
PLEASE LOOK FORWARD TO THE RETURN OF WEEKLY RAMBLINGS NEXT WEEK
AND THE NEXT POST WILL, IN FACT, CONTAIN ADVERTISEMENTS AS USUAL.

IN TRUTH, I’M JUST NOT FEELING WELL STILL…BLAH.
I HOPE TO FEEL BETTER BY NEXT WEEK >.>
IF THIS POST SOUNDS STUPID OR BLAND (WHICH IT DOES), IT IS DUE TO MY POUNDING HEADACHE AND OVERALL SPACEYNESS THAT IS STILL LINGERING FROM BEING KNOCKED OUT.
BLAH. SIGH. BLAH.

LIKE, SHARE, OR COMMENT FOR A SURPRISE

(._.)

Leave a Reply

