You Look Chipper Today


Blah. I have been very busy lately with stuff, but not with stuff you would expect. I have been getting out of the house and having fun lately. Of course, that means I have been actively neglecting my long hours of arduous writing for favor of gallivanting about small towns and indulging myself in a bit of Francophile happiness along with obsessive anime delights. I also tried something new relatively recently: writing kids’ books! (Hence the ridiculous amount of giant words in the previous sentence; it was a kind of subconscious cathartic release)

While working on the secret novel, I decided to take up another project this month. My mom posed the idea for a kids’ series a while ago, which she called the Fancy Ladies’ Club. It would be a series about a girl who gets together and stars a club with friends in which they learn to be fancy ladies. Naturally, being old-fashioned, I took to the idea and drafted an initial timeline along with a list of characters. After the initial fun of planning the series, a blank Word document awaited me as I faced the brutal reality: I had no idea how to write for kids!!

Yes, I pride myself on writing “for all ages,” for I believe my books can resonate with anyone willing to “take up and read.” Plus, the only questionable things in my books are psychological and emotional conflicts, which tend to bring internal struggles and rather disturbing…moments of reality to light. I never swear, and I hate excessive violence, so those don’t occur at all. And I relate to little kids; I have the heart of a child, and I never really lost my child-like nature. But, at the same time, I have a hard time reading into the minds and lives of kids… What do they like? What level of reading are they at? Which age group is this for? Plus, all these words! I just finished SFC, which consists of half the dictionary, and now I am lowering myself to sentences so simple that I can fluidly translate them to French! (OK, I admit that I may be smarter than I think, but somehow my mind goes blank when I try to translate to French)

So, at a loss, I sent the first three chapters of Fancy Ladies’ Club to my old grade school teachers, who were more than willing to read the chapters in class and encourage the students to read it themselves. Because the main character, Catherine, is in 4th grade, I gave the manuscript to my 3rd/4th grade teacher. Of course, she always gets overjoyed when i come to visit, and she assured it would be the greatest thing. I really don’t know why I worry so much; I suppose the kid spirit never left me, for she told me the following week that it was perfectly wonderful and that the kids complained it was so short (I am still only up to chapter 6). So, what’s the secret?

I guess the real reason everything was OK was because I used a lot of context clues. When I was younger, I struggled through books because I never knew what was going on–thusly, I included both simplified fancy phrases and the layman’s terms of explanation. I also use this method in all my other billions of novels. You should know these sentences as “~CRK” sentences; the flowing cascades of words driven by the soul–those really long sentences with both a dash and semi-colon (like this one, which says one thing, restates it in poetic way, and explains it all simply in the end–most often in a different point of view).

So, context made it easy for the kids to discern the meaning of words (I love figuring out definitions by context in sentence), and they enjoyed all the billions of adjectives I included, for that is what they were learning in school. I guess I got lucky…

But that was 4th grade. What about 4-years-old?

Because yours truly still cannot find a part-time job, I spent a while searching for opportunities on E-lance, which is a website solely for freelance writers and those searching for such writers. Of course, every time I see something interesting, I lose my proposal in the blinding light of older individuals who have been editing for forever and have a million letters after their names. Sigh. But, rarely, someone will email me back, and I jump for joy.

The only job I thought I was a shoe-in was a small job that literally no one sent in a proposal for. I felt so sorry for it–especially because it sounded tailored for me. It was a request for children’s books on French culture. Sigh. Well, you found the biggest starry-eyed Francophile ever to exist. Naturally, I sent in my measly proposal, and I received a prompt email which caught me in the middle of daydreaming what I could write about. [Stankin v anns. I am ending so many sentences with prepositions. This is actually occurring right now. That is a problem!]

And so, yours truly is now fussing over the insanely impossible task of writing “eloquently simple” for kids who can barely read. How is that possible?! Nevertheless, I finished the first draft, and it is so simple that I can’t stand looking at it. I am so nervous, though I am also oddly confident. I actually hope they accept my draft because I want to practice more in this genre (plus, be honest, this job was made for me) and translating the stories will really help me force myself into practicing French more, so…

Who knows? I could make it… Writing really is like baking in that way: once you get into the realm of writing, it isn’t hard to flutter back and forth from different genres, trying to make a go at it. Plus, the idea of seeing books that I wrote in print and in the arms of a starry-eyed child makes my heart frivolously warm.

 

Big Brother! I’ll make you proud! / Fr- [Pats shoulder] I know you will!

 

 

 

In other news, I was thinking of having a big extravaganza concerning SFC to help promote it somehow…what should I do? Free giveaways? A contest for a free e-copy? A kickstarter thing so I can raise money to get it published via on-demand printing? Ben, je ne sais pas, moi! Je suis bête!

[I learned that “bahn” is spelled “ben.” PFF Bahn!]

2 Responses to “You Look Chipper Today”

  1. titansz

    Great to hear you have been getting out and having fun! ^ᴗ^

    I am sure a job will come your way. ^˽^
    Kids Love pictures :) and the pictures don’t have to be “1080p high quality”. Pictures that tell stories with words.

    Handouts ‘discounts’ at the grand café opening of Cutie Pie’s? free copy with purchase of 2or3 bread loaves. Charity fundraiser thing, half proceeds go to some animal charity.

  2. penguingirl12

    Yah, I have lots of ideas in mind for when I open Cutie Pie’s or for when I get books…the problem is just getting enough funds to get to the opening and the publishing XD
    So I am trying to think of awareness gigs to get my name out there at least…

    I am infamously invisible.

Leave a Reply

