Do Not Have to Read Book One (My Marketing Ploy)


I have a sickness. I am already on chapter 9 of Step by Step. It’s insane how quickly I have been finishing chapters of this book; it gives me flashbacks of SFC Winter: wherein I wrote the bulk of the end of the book in the span of two months. But I didn’t need to be half-way done with the chapter timeline to tell you how different SBS is from SFC. In fact, now that I have finished all the chapter descriptions, the first 8 chapters, and the character descriptions… I must admit that they are practically two different worlds.

You see, SFC is like ZCN/TIES. It has the air of strange occurrences and fantasy mingling with reality like my dreams or my imagination do. But the same reasons that make it so intriguing and brilliant (literary themes, drama, a heavy dose of confusion) are the same exact things that push people away and keep them from coming back.

On the other hand, SBS is like GSI (Yes, FM’s last book) and Variations~Orch School Saga (OSS). The plot follows a simple journey through life, the daily events are focused on character development and the everyday, the overall atmosphere is down-to-Earth and not way out of nowhere. If I had to try to explain it in terms you could grasp… SFC is like Book Girl or some kind of hardcore fantasy anime, and SBS is As Told by Ginger (Admittedly, I may have done that on purpose).

It’s almost like the 2 aren’t even part of the same trilogy. It makes perfect sense, however, because Cera is a complete introvert with no care for others’ ideas who has spent precious time making sure everything about her was wrapped in a neat, little bundle to be shoved in the back of the closet. “Plain Elaine” is just your average girl with nothing really significant about her besides her happy-go-lucky attitude, her affinity for Emily Dickinson’s poetry, and her meek, shy demeanor. (Of course, Elaine just happens to have an insane amount of drama in her life) These two are in no way alike, so of course their stories are going to be radically different! Cera is bored with life and constantly tries to explain things in a new way or to “lie” about mundane details to spice things up to keep herself from drowning in her sorrows every day. Elaine, so down-to-Earth that she’s practically an ant, sees the world as it is and with its own natural beauty and everyday moments that make life special. And there you have it, kids.

So, with all due respect to Cera, I have decided that I am going to try to reel everyone into the SFC Trilogy via the second book, Step by Step, with the insanely proclaimed statement:

YOU DO NOT NEED TO HAVE READ THE FIRST BOOK OF THIS TRILOGY OR TO HAVE OBTAINED PRIOR KNOWLEDGE OF THE TRILOGY TO READ AND TO FULLY ENJOY THIS BOOK.

Because that statement is absolutely, positively true!

Elaine’s journey has nothing to do with Cera’s journey; the only link between them is Mariah (plus a few callback lines within the dialog), who…SPOILERS…is the real main character.

Sigh. I might as well fess up now because I’m going to have to explain this all eventually. Plus, I highly doubt anyone is actually reading this post, so I can still act all mysterious if I want to. In truth, Mariah Fomigante is the main character of the SFC Trilogy. The last book (Lost Days, Last Days or LD for short) is all about her and her life as narrated by–you guessed it–her. And, continuing on a theme, her book is even more different than the first two. It is a kind of reminisce run or a diary set to the pacing of SBS and to the mystique of SFC. So, what’s the point of SFC and SBS? Cera sees Mariah from a noncaring distance from the typical lenses. Elaine sees Mariah from the point of a close friend with mostly the same interests as her. Mariah obviously sees herself in a radically different way than the others, so her perspective is extreme and secret until I keep blabbing and explain everything in this post. [Covers mouth and walks away]

Where was I? [goes up and reads] Oh, right! SFC and SBS are different! …Well, duh. I could have told you that.

Sigh. Really, I mean no offense to Cera, but it just seems like Elaine’s way of everything is easier on everyone and provides the SFC Trilogy experience in a familiar and engaging way. And so, I hope that the readers of SBS will find SFC out of intrigue and read that as well (Before abandoning it for LD).

Because I, too, have two sides of me: the Cera side and the Elaine side. Many of my strangest and most brilliant (in my humble opinion) books tend to be way out there in space, much like Cera’s book. Examples are my sci-fis, ZCN/TIES for sure, some short stories including the new one I am about to finish, and even FM’s things at certain points. Oh, who am I kidding? FM’s genius is unparalleled. [Slight smile]  The Elaine side, however, is more into character studies and the everyday…a lot of these kinds of things show up in many of my other books like Secret to Happiness, Meet Arlaine, the Real Me; OSS (which is part of ZCN/TIES), GSI, pff I’d even venture to say that I Have Seen the Future–despite its fantasy elements–is a story from the Elaine family of influences.

WAIT–

Are CB, EAB, AND FCG the predecessors to all influences? O.o [mind dies]

 

Well, that’s all I’ve got for today. If you catch me in a good mood, I may put up more chapter samples for SBS online…but none for LD. It is one giant spoiler in the form of a novel.

 

À plus!

 

UPCOMING RANDOM RADIO YEAH THINGS WITH STUFF

HEY THERE FRIENDS I’M WHATSHISFACE. YEAH. HEY I CHANGED SOME OF THE THINGS OVER THERE THAT ONE THING WITH THE PUBLISHED WORKS TAB UP THERE. YEAH. NOW YOU CAN SEE MORE STUFF. IT’S REORG-ORGANIZED. SORRY, I’M MIXIN UP MY WORDS THERE.

OTHERWISE I DON’T HAVE ANYTHING ELSE. I’M JUST BORED NOW.

YEAH. I’M TOO LAZY TO WRITE THE UPCOMING POSTS. THINGS WITH STUFF. OK FRIENDS COME BACK ANOTHER DAY THINGS WITH A TALKING AND WRITING. YEAH. BLOGS THINGS.

 

I MYSTERIOUSLY DISAPPEARED.

 

2 Responses to “Do Not Have to Read Book One (My Marketing Ploy)”

  1. titansz

    You have a sickness? Are you ok? Is it a cold?, stuffy nose?, sore throat?, insomnia?, do you have that terrible cough and headaches that won’t go away again??? *worried face*.
    Wait…. you mean… that the sickness is that you have recently been writing a lot??? *faints*

    :( SFC and ZCN/TIES push people away?.. erm, “Dahling” those ‘things’ don’t push me away!.! ^˽^

    *You MYSTERIOUSLY DISAPPEARED*

    That’s no fair, now u got to teach me how to mysteriously disappear!!!

    *from long ago posts*
    *looks at the tabs* hmm I don’t see a ‘Story of the Month’ tab, better yet a ‘FM Story of the Month’ tab!. ^ᴗ^

  2. penguingirl12

    I got rid of the Story of the Month tab XD I guess I could always incorporate that dead concept into another post category…
    Hmmmmmm FM story of the month, eh? Mwahahahahaaaaaaaaa

    I dunno; maybe they don’t push people away, but I’m insecure, and I believe that overly confusing concepts combined with tons of characters combined with tons of info combined with insanely eccentric speak with insanity vocab and grammar scares people XD That’s ZCN/TIES in a nutshell, by the way…

    Yes, my sickness is writing a lot lately. Now my sickness is making bread at home! [Drools] I love bread~~

    Only I can disappear mysteriously and reappear at the drop of a hat. [Eerily fades away into the mist]

Leave a Reply

