The Things We Must Do But Cannot Always Do!


I’ve been thinking lately (no surprise; I’m always thinking–too much…that’s my problem)…How necessary is it to condense the storyline of a particular novel?

ZCN/TIES is literally over 20 years’ worth of stuff packed into 4/5 books. The first covers only four years, the second covers only 2 years (I think), and the last two cover a whole lifetime, practically (about 20 years). So, where do I draw the line as to what goes in and what stays out?

I have been musing this forever. Initially, the chapters for ZCN/TIES literally fit on two pages. Now, they cover an entire notebook. Now, I feel that it’s too barbaric to be so long-winded, so I’m going to tone them down a bit…Here are some of my thoughts.

BOOK 1: Beginning ZCN Adventures

Zeenith goes on an adventure. Blah blah blah. Confusion, confusion. It’s all cleared by the end…or is it?

So, I’ve been thinking of focusing on the “exciting” parts (incidentally, the ones I like) rather than dragging on forever with the WARP Kids’ Olympics, which is an obvious kids’ ploy, and an excuse to expound heavily on the main characters and their dialog and the day-to-day of their lives…three things I would venture to write forever and ever unless someone begs me to stop.

This would showcase the “real” plot of ZCN Book 1 and would also cut down on it being a billion word novel.

Nothing needs to be changed in Ties (book 2). It’s perfectly fine, and it has the perfect balance of all 3: plot episodes, filler episodes, and combos of the two. Coincidence that I conceptualized Ties much later?

BOOKS 3&4 [AND MAYBE 5??]: LATER ZCN

Without giving too much away, this story follows more adventures of ZCN and her friends, but it later follows the adventures of an entirely different cast…from their childhood (meaning birth to 8 years old) to their school years, teenage years, etc. This is the “coming of age” book, in a sense.

Here is where I have an excuse to go on forever with the “day-to-day” character development. Good thing, too, because one of the new characters is one of my favorites of all time.

Sooo…yah not sure where I’m going with this…

To WARP or not to WARP? That is the question…

Whether ’tis nobler to–[presses mute button]

[still talks on forever with no sound]

Leave a Reply

