The Great Dilemma


They say that we write the story of our lives and that as we pursue our dreams, we forge our own journeys along with the path laid out for us. As a student almost done with junior college (associates in Baking and Pastry), I keep returning to that great dilemma: where will I be in the next ten years?

Should I intern somewhere for baking? Find a bakery to work in? Open my own place? Should I open my own place right away or learn and train a few years before?

Should I get a degree in creative writing (MFA) or should I just work with others, learning as I go and try to publish my own books? Should I self-publish? Should I get an editing job in a publishing company and try to get in from there?

Where to go…what to do…I suppose…in time, I shall know.

For now, the possibilities are endless, and I am overwhelmed by the ideas. All the dreams…

3 Responses to “The Great Dilemma”

  1. misfortunedogged

    I guess it depends on how easy the “ease-in” process is (funds/income-wise). If you have the leisure, and you think you will benefit from it, getting an MFA seems useful. But it’s worth saying that the Fine Arts program isn’t necessarily the most productive way to sharpen your skills; you’ll also need to pick schools that will be open to your style of writing.

    Self-publishing is okay, I guess…I just really like the gratification of knowing that I meet a particular market or niche’s standards. It’s true that editors know far from everything, but the good ones know enough. And that “enough” is often more than we know.

    Publishing, I hear, isn’t very likable, but it comes down to your particular experience. I spoke with some literary agents a couple of years ago, trying to get a field for the industry, and those first entry-level years are brutal. It’s more making coffee and copies, as well as slush pile reading (if you’re lucky), than anything else. But this is a generality; specifics may contradict.

    The point is, if you’ve got the direction, the time, and the drive, you can work your way in without a formal angle. Key word “formal.” You’ll still need to network one way or another. Are there any nonprofit writing organizations in your area? In my city, there’s one: you pay a few hundred dollars for a 10-week course. There’s also a once-a-year-convention and weekend prompts: all you have to do on the given day is show up to write for a few hours.

  2. misfortunedogged

    *feel

  3. penguingirl12

    Yah, I know. I think I’m just going to try to publish. I met with an author, and he said there are 3 ways to publish: self-published online e-books where you get all the profit, self-publishing, and regular publishing. I loathe e-books, but, sadly, I think that would probably be the best way to get my foot in the door, so to speak. He also said that everything is so different now and that authors have to network themselves. –__– So, I’m thinking more along those lines now. I definitely don’t have the funds for a master’s degree.

Leave a Reply

